Tag Archives: pistol

Purse Packin’, Mississippi’s Evolving Law on Carrying a Firearm

Mississippi Law requires a license to carry a concealed weapon under most circumstances. However, a proposed change in the law will allow for carrying a pistol or revolver in your handbag. No license needed.

SENATE BILL NO. 2394 holds, in part

“No license shall be required under this section for a loaded or unloaded pistol or revolver carried in a purse, handbag,  satchel, other similar bag or briefcase or fully enclosed case.”

The proposed legislation also decreases the fee for a concealed carry license from $100 to $80.

This change in the law  is consistent with Mississippi’s prior gun law legislation.  Many anti-gun voices predicted Mississippi going the way of the “Wild West” when “Open Carry” was defined in the law. These fears were unfounded.  This change, too, will not lead to shoot outs at the OK Corral, but rather serve to allow persons to protect themselves easier and, perhaps, cause a criminal to reconsider their target…

Mississippians, as a whole, believe in responsible gun ownership and the law (MS Gun Law Q/A)  & (101) is just now catching up with those beliefs.

Matthew Thompson is a family law attorney and supports responsible gun ownership.

Follow the blog: BowTieLawyer 


Gun Myths Debunked

People make a lot of assumptions about guns.  Most of them are wrong…

NPS photo

Mississippi has fairly straight forward gun laws.

Can I purchase a gun from a dealer

Yes, if you are 18 or older for a long gun (ie: shotgun, rifle, muzzle loader)


Yes, if you are 21 or older for a hand gun (ie: pistol, revolver)


have not been convicted of domestic violence, a felony and have not been committed for alcohol or drugs, and are not under the influence at the time of purchase.

What about Possessing a Firearm?

Possession as opposed to purchasing has lesser restrictions.  There is not minimum age for possession of a long gun. It’s not uncommon for 9-year-olds and up to have a shotgun for dove or duck hunting.  It’s legal, and assuming proper supervision, safe.  The law is a little more restrictive on a youngster possessing a handgun, but you can possess one if you are 18 or older, and if younger than 18 you may possess one for hunting purposes, at a shooting range or on private property with permission of the landowner.

Do I need a Permit or License?


Do I have to Register my Firearm?


What about Concealed Carry?

MS has recently adopted new laws concerning concealed carry vs. open carry and a license is required for Concealed Carry.

Where can I have this gun?

Your home, your business and your car and a lot of other places too, unless there is a Federal restriction against it, or if your local entity has the proper signage, unless of course you have the instructor certified endorsement (though the endorsement does not override Federal restrictions). Confused yet?

I would suggest you consult with your local law enforcement office if you have specific questions, though reading the law for yourself may prove more beneficial.  Also, the laws are ever-changing.  Confer with an attorney if you have any questions concerning the use, purchase or possession of a firearm in Mississippi before you have an issue.

Follow the blog: BowTieLawyer Visit the website: Thompson Law Firm

You may also contact Matthew with your family law case, question or concern at (601) 850-8000 or Matthew@bowtielawyer.ms.

black bow